1. I have corrected the e-mail settings so that outgoing e-mails from these forums should be sent now. If you tried to Register or Reset your Password, please try again!
    Dismiss Notice

Would like to use PS2 data for a class assignment; need help

Discussion in 'Census: Planetside 2' started by switch37, Apr 24, 2014.

1. switch37

switch37 Guest

For a final project in one of my classes I'm supposed to get some data of my choice and do some simple visualizations of the data using MATLAB.

What I was hoping to do was get data by outfit and compare different outfits in terms of how likely they are within a given period of time to pull certain vehicles, play particular classes, or use specific weapons. For example, I'd like to know how many Sunderers were pulled in a specified period of time by outfit X versus outfit Y.

The problem I'm having is I'm not really a computer guy (I'm a mechanical engineering student) and have never worked with an API or anything similar before. I've already signed up for a service ID and have gone through the basic examples but I'm having a tough time figuring out how to make more complex requests.

To further clarify, what I'm hoping is possible is to send a single request that will return the following data for all the players within the specified outfit on a per player basis:

Kills per weapon (vehicle and infantry weapons); number of times each type of vehicle has been pulled; and amount of time spent playing class type; all within a given period of time (I'll probably just analyze January 2014-March 2014).

Basically if I had as much time as I wanted to figure this out I'd take the trial by fire approach, but I'm a bit short on time and I have other finals to study for so any help figuring out how to request exactly what I'm looking for would be much appreciated.

2. Ryekir

Ryekir Guest